Your question

Question about Raid Networks

Tags:
  • New Build
  • NAS / RAID
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
September 21, 2009 5:05:23 PM

Hello all, I've been building computers for many years. This year, for the first time, I'll be using my computer in support of my friends business. To add data security, I decided to add a raid network to my next build. I just ordered the parts, which included 3 western digital "black" 640 gb drives. My plan was to use two in raid 1, and the other as a solo disk for my personal use. The raid drives will hold the business files. Finally, I plan to use one of my existing drives (300ish gb) drive as a boot drive using windows 7 os.

Question 1: does this work? I've never created a raid network before, and I just assumed you could have both a raid network alongside standalone drives. Today it occurred to me that this assumption hasn't been tested.

Question 2: I read with great interest the article written a month or so ago by the security expert concerning the use of virtual machines to assure security, rather than virus software. In Her case, she setup three virtual machines, one with absolute restrictions EXCEPT her bank, second with a bit less restrictions for her business, and third was a vm with no restrictions...which she knew would be infected daily, and for which she simply started each day with a fresh install of a clean "image" of that machine.

This seems wise, and I was giving it some thought for this current build.

I'm naive with respect to Virtual Machines. If anyone knows a good teaching site for how Virtual Machines work, I'd appreciate it. I assume it has NOTHING to do with physical hard drives, but I could be very wrong. Indeed, it very well may be that one must partition a hard drive, and assign specific partitions to specific VMs?

Any help here would be appreciated.