Sign in with
Your question

Bring me up to speed from the ninties

Last response: in Systems
September 22, 2009 3:21:58 AM

I've run across these forums from time to time over the years. Tonight I've been doing some research and found the volumes of helpful information incredibly helpful.

I built computers on the side for folks back when Windows 95 and Doom were all the rage. Over the years I've continued to stay abreast of things enough to keep my computers current from a home user perspective. The most intense use my computer has seen is when I fire up the flight simulator.

I got a bargain on a HD digital video camera this summer and my creative mind is ablaze with all the things I would like to do. What a bargain.... I'm going to wind up spending a lot of money of video crap in the next year:) 

I have no real experience with video editing. I've played aroudnd a little Adobe and Vegas. There's quite a learning curve there. I have no idea which one I might prefer, or if there's something better out there. They're so freakin' expensive!

From my reading I see there are two main areas I want to know more about from the perspective of how it will help with video editing. They are RAID and the use of another computer/server.

My current computer has an Intel board with an E6600 processor. It has RAID but I've never used it. I completely skipped Vista as I never had a reason to make switching from XP worth the effort. I've got Win7 64bit running on the Intel machine now. From what I've seen, even with only 2 GB of RAM file transfers [ more to the point hard drive read/writes ] are noticably faster.

I notice none of the software seems to be 64 bit. So even if I build a new system with lots of RAM, I wonder how a 32 bit program will take advantage of it.