Overclocking my i5-2500k on a asus z68 + an asus gtx 560 ti

wienerdog

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2011
So i just bought and built a new gaming rig. the parts are...
cpu - i5-2500k
gpu - asus gtx 560 ti
motherboard - ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
memory - Ripjaws 8gb DDR3 1600
power supply - 750 watt
i also have coolermaster hyper 212 heatsink on my CPU instead of the stock one, inside an antec 900 case, so i think the rig will stay pretty cool between the heatsink and the 4 fans on the case.

i would like to overclock the cpu and the gpu. this is my first time trying to do this, and most of the guides i have read have left me confused as i am new to this and still unfamiliar with the ASUS bios. id like to overclock, but be very safe about it. maybe around 4.2 ghz for the cpu. basically id like to be able to run battlefield 3 on relatively high settings without having to worry about burning out my parts from overheating or any other problems.

I have already attempted to overclock the gpu using the msi afterburner, but im still not really sure how to use it.

thanks for the help!

Asus boards are known for being very helpful with overclocking and since you want to go for an overclock of about 4.2 that should be very easy with that board. If you go into the bios and under Extreme tweaker there should be something like A I Overclock Tuner or CPU Level up. If you have cpu level up , select that and you should have some options there offering a couple different speeds to choose from. If there is one there for 4.2ghz then you could select that one and , save and exit , and when you reboot hit the tab key and it will show you the long version of the bios boot screen and you should be able to see that the cpu is now clocked at 4.2ghz.