2600k and p8z68-v

ricardois

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011
Hello everyone,

I'm new to overclocking and was reading some base values, so how my motherboard has a lot of help i've decided to try it.

i have a motherboard from asus p8z68-v and i got a i7 2600k using the Antec Kuhler 620, my memory is Corsair Vengeance low profile 1.35v.

So i was using the x.m.p profile to the memory and let it the same most of settings on AUTO and memory at 1600mhz in 1.35v. Went to the cpu advanced settings and set the multiplier to 43 and noticed the TURBO MODE option is locked in ENABLED, so i let it that way, and changed the CPU voltage to manual 1.275v.

Well i restarted windows i noticed it worked with turbo mode idle is 1.6ghz and not idle 4.3ghz... so with cpu-z the voltage is 1.26... something and it is working, so i tested with prime95 in small FFT for 8 hours and no problems so far and stable temperatures at 69celsius.

I just fell that something is missing, i just can't believe it worked like a charm in the first try, and also what happens if the voltage is higher than what the cpu really needs other than more heat? maybe i can downgrade voltage more for a more efficient overclock? maybe i forget to turn off/on something in the bios?

I’m just worried that I can be damaging some components.

Sorry for my english and thanks for any help.

Solution
Manual will have the voltage stick at that no matter if you're idle or load. So if you set it to 1.25, it will be at 1.25 in idle and load. There should be an option for additional turbo voltage, this will just change load voltage. Or you can also change LLC to just change load voltage. So you don't raise idle voltage. I would suggest offset -.05 (undervolting idle) and change the llc or additional voltage.

Donut, speedstep lowers vcore and multiplier, that is not vdroop.

joytech22

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2008