Phenom II X4 955 BE and 965 BE

yannickhk

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2008
Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to point out that I am a complete n00b when it gets to assembling and techno-savvy terms. i just bought most of the components for my first built.

I went for AMD for the obvious cost difference compare to the intel i7 (yes I know intel is better, faster .... i7 920 can be OCed to no end... yadda yadda ... :sarcastic: ). I'd rather invest in some solid HDD (2 X velociraptors 300GB in raid0 and 1 X 2TB ???, don't know yet) and a kick-a$$ graphic card (HIS HD5970 :sol: ) than spend 200euros more for a intel cpu and motherboard. But hey, that's just me so no flaming please.

So here is my dilemma, as I stated I am really new at this stuff. I already have the motherboard (ASUS Crosshair III, chosen after much reading all over the internet) and there appears to be some problems with the BIOS as the motherboard doesn't recognize the PII 965. I should find an older compatible CPU to flash the BIOS ... oy, N00b here lol Besides, I am an expat living in China ... how the heck am I going to find another CPU when I don't even speak Chinese (I should learn though ..)

So here is my question: there are many discussions about the PII965 and 955, some state that the 2 CPU are exactly the same except for the multipliers (whatever that is :??: ) and others state that the 965 is better than the 955 ?? (if I understand them correctly of course ...). So what's the deal? are they the same or is there a difference that i should know about? If there is none, i would rather buy a PII 955 as this one is recognized by earlier version of the BIOS (no flashing stuff lol).

Thanks for reading and any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, btw, I am talking about the PII 965 BE 125W (not the 140W.. not sure if it makes a difference)

Here is my future built (that's what it's called right ;)
ASUS Crosshair III formula
AMD Phenom II X4 965/955 black edition