Sign in with
Your question

Startup problem

Last response: in Motherboards
March 12, 2010 5:48:17 PM

Someone help me!!!! I just built a system with a gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UD3H mobo and an AMD PhenomII X4 955 Black. Powers up, and I get my one "beep". I get the gigabyte mobo home screen but I cant get anything to let me into the POST screen or the BIOS screen. This is my first build and I am probably stupid, but I don't know what else to do!!!!N

More about : startup problem

a c 109 V Motherboard
March 12, 2010 7:33:24 PM

I suggest clearing CMOS, but know that this will restore the board to the build date. That means if there are any BIOS updates between build date and now, you'll need to flash your BIOS.

To accomplish the clearing CMOS task, refer to your motherboard manual to find the correct jumper and setting. Next turn off the PSU switch, and then unplug the power cord from PSU to wall.

Now that the PSU is disconnected from the power source (wall), unplug the PSU from the motherboard (4/8 pin connector AND 20/24 pin connector). Finally, move the jumper position as indicated in your manual.

In about 10-20 seconds, you may put the jumper back to the way it was. Once the jumper is in the correct position, you may reconnect everyhting.

NOTE: Failure to remove the power cables from the motherboard will result in non-warrantable failure. If you are uncertain/uncomfortable performing this task, find/pay somebody experienced/qualified to do it.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
March 12, 2010 9:31:50 PM

Is it a fresh windows install or did you transfer the hard drive from another computer?
m
l
Related resources
a c 156 V Motherboard
March 12, 2010 11:23:53 PM

T_T said:
I suggest clearing CMOS, but know that this will restore the board to the build date. That means if there are any BIOS updates between build date and now, you'll need to flash your BIOS.

Not true. It will take you back to factory defaults of the last version you installed, if you installed any.
m
l