Sign in with
Your question

Windows Ready Boost

Last response: in Storage
July 26, 2011 8:43:52 PM

RAM: 1066 DDR3 8G's
CPU: Phenom II x4 820 2.80Ghz
HDD: SATA 1TB 5400RPM Transfer Rate 3Gb's (Internal)

Hew guys my question is the following:

Would Dedicating a 16Gig USB 2.0 Flash drive to Windows Ready Boost, boost my pc's performance?

P.S As you guyz can tell im a newb, my friend told me it would boost my performance a bit, but he failed to explain how it worked, so a slight explanation would also be appreciated,

More about : windows ready boost

a c 415 G Storage
July 26, 2011 9:09:22 PM

Generic USB flash drives are by and large pretty slow, with typical write speeds of around 2-5MByte/sec. I doubt it would help very much.
m
l
July 26, 2011 9:10:29 PM

I don't think you will notice any difference. You have enough RAM and running a decent CPU. It's for those who have like 1gb RAM or less. Vista and Window 7 run better on 4gb of RAM.
m
l
Related resources
July 26, 2011 9:17:01 PM

I tough it might help with write speed a little and other stuff, my HDD is pretty big and it's sometimes slow when writing large files and bringing up that info.

I guess the best thing i can do is defragmentation, and error scans a few times a year to keep it up to speed.

P.S I seen my HDD Fragmentation go up to 25%, after i have installed a few large Game files 3-10 gigs, is that normal?
m
l
a c 415 G Storage
July 26, 2011 11:50:49 PM

25% seems on the high side to me.
m
l
July 27, 2011 4:34:54 AM

sminlal said:
25% seems on the high side to me.

I tough the same thing, It only got that high once, after i installed about 30 gb's worth of games, but still installing 30 gigs of info shouldn't have bumped it so high. Well i guess il just keep a close eye on the fragmentation.
m
l
September 27, 2011 12:00:09 PM

I am looking into this ready boost thing also.

All I can say is that given your system its supposed to increase performance on 4k random reads and even smaller reads.