sturticles

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2009
Hi everyone, thanks in advance for taking your time to look at this (whether you're going to help me or not).
So this will be my first time building a PC. I'm not very knowledgable as of yet, but I am keen to learn. I was hoping you guys could help me pick out some gear to work around what I am using it for.
I want a new PC because - I want a faster one to what I have now! (P4 3.4ghz, 2GB ram, Ati Radeon x1950 pro *not a bad card*) I am currently studying animation and graphics and so will be using this computer for Video, Graphics, Maya, Rendering etc.
I am also interested in gaming and want to be able to play at highest possible settings.
I am not the kind of person that will buy something new every couple of months to upgrade a previous item just a little bit and put it in my PC and sell the other one, *I want something that will be as future proof as possible, (even though we're talking about a PC, I guess i mean i want to have it powerful enough for current applications for as long as possible)*.
However, I do want the best 'bang for buck' and not spend 100's more dollars for only a small increase in performance. . .
I will most likely be using this PC on my 46" sony LCD 1080p TV.
I also have access to a 52" Sony 1080p LCD TV and would like to play around with multiple displays for once (I've never done that) which would be a dream of interest.
So what I have thought of so far about getting is as follows -

Core i7 920. (I thought getting this and overclocking it would prove to be very sufficient at say 3-3.6 ghz? Maybe more?)

Video Card/ GPU. (I am not 100% sure yet, but definitely want one of ATi's new 5800 series cards. Once the 5870x2 is released and among others, i will decide which one is the best 'bang for buck'.