Sign in with
Your question

Overkill Build

Last response: in Systems
September 25, 2009 9:24:51 PM

Okay, I'm a little new new to Tom's Hardware...who am I kidding...I'm a complete beginner here, but I just have a quick couple of questions that I hope I can get some answers to.

I work as a custom computer builder, with a small-level business to supply the needs of whoever asks. I recently received a commission to create, and I quote, "The best computer money can buy...something that will beat any other computer out there...price is not an object...I want the best graphics, the best hardware, the best everything." If you lived in the most affluent parts of my town, you would understand how somewhat could ask for something like that.

Now, just to make it impressive, I drummed up an EVGA "Classified" motherboard for a i7 extreme, although I know a i7 920 would make a better choice for price vs. performance, but I'm not in a position to argue here. I'm getting 12 GB of high performance memory, even though I understand that it does not make that much of a difference. The case is full aluminum "super tower" and I plan on installing a liquid cooling system. I will be inserting 8 TB worth of HDD, coupled with a SSD for the OS and games. The customer has indicated that RAID is unwanted.

The question here is concerning the video graphics. The truth is that I got this commission almost a month ago, but I suggested the customer wait until the Radeon 5000 series came out. Now, it's out in the open, and the performance is extraordinary. My question is, it is possible to dual, triple, or even quadruple (yes, I know that it usually only works with a smaller video card, but, I've had very little experience with components that are this high-end), CrossFire these monsters. If so, is there a power supply capable of powering all of this? And what is your recommendation? Is it better to wait it out until the X2 edition comes out? Or should I go with something like triple GTX 285s?