965BE Overclocking to 4.0

Cash091

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2009
Hello all,
I was looking for some expertise with some OCing. I am relatively new to OCing right now. I am trying to push my 965 to 4.0. Here's where I stand right now:

Cooler Master EVO 212 temps idle right now @ 35 full load around 50
Bus speed = 200.9
Multiplier = 20.0
HT Link 2009.0
NB Frequency 2410-11(it changes)
NB Multi 12.0

RAM is rated for and running at 1066 5-5-5-15 but before my OC it was running 800 5-5-5-15. The tRC is @ 32 clocks but on the SPD tab in CPU-Z the EPP#1 setting (1066 5-5-5-15) has the tRC @ 48. Should I set this to 48 manually because now everything is currently set to auto aside for the speed(1066). I have yet to modify voltages as I'm not too familiar with them. Clock speeds and multipliers I have a fair amount of knowledge on though.

Here is the issue. First I had just modified the multi on CPU to 20. I blue screened ONCE after playing Skyrim for a few hours. I figured the BS was due to something with the FSB or RAM. So I then upped the multi on the NB because I read that article saying CPU's @ 4.0 should have the NB around 2400. Then I raised the RAM from 800 to 1066. When I run Prime95's blend test I freeze up after a min or two. Wondering what the settings should be on the NB and RAM to maintain a stable OC @ 4.0. Also, if I HAVE to change my voltages what would be safe. I don't want to fry my CPU... If there are people out there with much OC exp I would love to learn!!

THANKS MUCH!

Solution
When you try to overclock everything you run into trouble because if you blue screen you are left guessing what caused it. Your ram has nice low timings and you could actually leave it alone because if you raise the fsb you will also raise the speed of the ram by default. You really need to let us know what your motherboard is (brand & model).