Two quick questions

junaid96

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011
Hi guys (and girls)

I'm very new to to this "build you own PC and overclock it to the max" world, so I don't know very much :)

Anyway, I have a few questions for you geniuses:

Messy post, just skim-read if you want.

I built me a 2500K build over the summer, and discovered that in the BIOS I could just change my multiplier to 40 and get a 4.0GHZ overclock. "Great", I thought, and saved and exited. I later discovered that I should really have run a stress test, so I ran OCCTP or something like that a few times for about 2-5 minutes each time. My temperatures creeped up during that period, until they reached something like 87C, and the stress test gave a warning :O Should I run it for longer and see if it goes higher, or is that already the max temperature before it burns out the CPU? Idle temps are around 32-35C. Any advice would be great - I bought a 2500*K* for OC, so I would like to overclock. I'm using the stock heatsink (no, I'm not going to buy an aftermarket cooler) with a CM Enforcer case (front 200mm intake, rear 120mm exhaust, and scope for a 200mm on the top).

Secondly, a weird question - I installed SpeedFan after hearing all the rave about it, and promptly confused myself with its insane amount of settings.. I managed to control my GPU fan, and changed it to.. well 120%? My rocket of an EAH6850 then almost exploded with noise, and I quickly reduced to 50% in fear. I can't remember if it was faster than 100%, but I don't want to try again - can anyone tell me if it's possible that I could have gone beyond "100%"?

Thanks,

junaid96

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011
Turns out I'm not "allowed" to edit, so here's my edit: