Sign in with
Your question

Multiple Rad question

Last response: in Overclocking
December 28, 2011 8:27:19 PM

Hi all,

I'm a VERY experienced system builder (I was plugging 16k ram chips into 8088 motherboards before i could ride a bike) but am BRAND NEW to h2o cooling and still trying to get my head around it. Have been researching for a week or so and won't be pulling the trigger on components for 2-3 weeks.

There is an overwhelming amount of information out there, some of it contradictory, but I've yet to see my question addressed.

My new system is a 2600k with a 6870 (soon to be upgraded to probably a 570 or 580). Plan to overclock EVERYTHING to the max. I don't game much, in fact, these days my phone has enough processing power for my computing needs, but hey, it's what I do.

So watercooling has me fascinated and as of now I'm planning on externally mounting a 3x120 rad and hitting both the CPU and GPU to start with, eventually hitting chipsets maybe RAM (though mostly for fun and aesthetics if i have as much fun with watercooling as i anticipate).

Debating running a parallel loop, which i doubt ill need now but could come in handy when i sli.

Now here's my question.

You can get a single 120 rad pretty cheap: $35ish. Why not run a serial loop going first to the CPU block, then to the single 120 rad mounted internally, then to GPU, then external 3x120 rad?

It seems to me that the single rad would knock a few degrees off the water from the CPU before it hits the GPU block, right?

Am I missing something?

Any reason nobody has tried this? flow restrictions? inefficiency? poor price/performance? Just wholly unnecessary?

Thanks

More about : multiple rad question

a c 328 K Overclocking
December 28, 2011 8:44:37 PM