AMD Bulldozer FX-4100 OC

Status
Not open for further replies.

tadjnelson

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2011
Hello, I am new to overclocking and need some help. I have a decent system, not the best, but it runs most games around mid-high range. I am looking to OC my AMD FX-4100 to anything stable really...

System Specs:

Cpuz : http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2170458
Core Temp (Using the Hyper 212 Evo): http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/137/coretempscrr.png/

I am not a complete "n00b" when it comes to overclocking, but I would like to know how to OC to it's greatest potential (without ruining anything).

I am using all stock BIOS settings on my motherboard.

Edit: So far I've been receiving a lot of help from the people on this Forum! Thanks! *sarcasm*

Solution
If your just using the stock cooler you can get your Fx4100 to 4.4Ghz easily.

Enter bios, change the CPU multiplyer to 22x and up the voltage core by 0.1v - leave everything else.
Dissable Turbo and Max core settings, also dissable Cool N Quiet technology

You should also up the NB hypertransport to 2200Mhz since all other FX chips run at 2200Mhz i never understood why AMD set the FX4100 to 2000Mhz when it can easily handly the overclock.

:bounce:

** if you suffer any instability just re enter bios and drop the multiplyer to 20 or 21 (4.0Ghz or 4.2Ghz respectively, it should operate stable at those speeds)

Mangotango81

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2012
If your just using the stock cooler you can get your Fx4100 to 4.4Ghz easily.

Enter bios, change the CPU multiplyer to 22x and up the voltage core by 0.1v - leave everything else.
Dissable Turbo and Max core settings, also dissable Cool N Quiet technology

You should also up the NB hypertransport to 2200Mhz since all other FX chips run at 2200Mhz i never understood why AMD set the FX4100 to 2000Mhz when it can easily handly the overclock.

:bounce: