$400 Upgrade Budget - Work with it! :D

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Computer
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
September 27, 2009 11:48:51 PM

Hello :D  I've got a $400 budget to upgrade my computer with, and I'm asking you to help me decide how to spend it :) 

I built my computer as a budget build some time ago to better serve my needs. It was 10,000x faster than my previous computer (a 1999 Dell Hand-me down from my dad). That Dell was ok for anyone else in my family, but not for me lol. I'm a college student, and I mainly use my computer for multimedia/editing/gaming purposes. I have the entire CS4 Master Collection installed, but I primarily use only Premiere Pro, Photoshop CS4, and Lightroom. I'm a photographer/videographer. Of course I also game, my games list thus far reads as follows (games I play regularly): COD4, Burnout Paradise, CSS, Empire: Total War, L4D, TF2, and Unreal Tournament 3. I play all of these games @ 1920x1200 resolution. My graphics card is a wee bit stressed by that once in a while, but most of the time it runs like a champ (the 3870 used to be top of the line, least it was when I bought it :D ).

Additions:I added a few things gradually. The 26" monitor is a recent addition (started with the 19" only). Before that, I added the G15 keyboard and the G5 mouse. And I don't remember when, but somewhere in there I had to add more storage space. I started with the Seagate Barracuda, then bought the Velociraptor and made that my boot disk, then bought the Formula f1 terabyte when I ran out of room for my photos/videos. Everything else was there from the beginning.