Trouble OCing an E8400

_Kennie

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011
Hey there,

First off, let me say that I'm new to overclocking. Here are my specs:

Processor: E8400 Wolfdale A E0
Motherboard: MSI P45 Neo (MS-7519)
Mems: 2x Corsair XMS2 DHX CM2X2048-6400C5DHX (2x2GB 5-5-5-18 @ 800MHz DDR2)
PSU: PowerCooler Type-R 550W
VGA: XFX 9800GTX+

Okay, so this is what I did:

Started by disabling C1E, EIST, DOT, Spread Spectrum and all those features that could cause troubles,

Set memory timings by hand (5-5-5-18). Set RAM voltage to 1.8V (normal voltage and timings, according to manufacturer,)

Set the FSB to a value over 333MHz,

Set the ram divider so that the memories don't go over 800MHz,

Setting the MCH, ICH and VTT FSB voltages to "normal" values (just to get them off the automatic option),

and finally, set the CPU voltage (PCI speed comes auto-locked to 100MHz, in theory.)

I can manage to get stable at 375 FSB with a multiplier of 9 (3375MHz), even at 1.1475V, which is less than stock voltage. So far so good.

When I try 385 FSB, everything goes to hell. Sometimes it reboots before booting (rare but possible), and every time I run Prime95, it always fails withing 3 minutes.

I played with voltages a lot, giving everything a little boost, first at different times, and then all at the same time, and raising the the CPU voltage to 1.2475 (and also values in between.) I don't wanna go higher than that on the processor voltage because I belive its temprature readings are not reliable (I think the digital thermometer is broken) and also because I raised a whole milivolt (edit: there should say 100mV there :p) just for 90MHz sake (10FSB x9), which I think is too much and still doesn't work.

I also tried 385 FSB x 8.5 multiplier (lowering it from 9), giving as a result 3272MHz, which is less than the 3375MHz I manage to get stable, but the instability persisted.

The memories at 375FSB are at 750MHz, and at 385 FSB, 770MHz, which is always lower than 800MHz.