Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 processors only support DDR3-1066 Max!!!

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • DDR3
  • Intel i7
  • Processors
Last response: in CPUs
December 16, 2009 3:29:13 AM

I am trying to choose an i7 processor, and I wanted to get one that works with DDR3-1600, only to find out on Intel's website that the i7 series of processors (even the extreme editions) say they only support DDR3-1066 Max. Is this True!?

I have no knowledge of overclocking, and I don't think I am going to try to OC my system. If that is the case, is there any point to buying DDR3 ram higher than 1066? I had planned to get a 6 GB Mushkin Redline Kit DDR3-1600, but now I'm thinking this may be pointless, and I should look for a 6GB DDR3-1066 kit instead.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

More about : processors support ddr3 1066 max

a b à CPUs
December 16, 2009 4:16:03 AM

Set the options in BIOS to the frequency you want.

Or overclock your computer - all you have to do is change two numbers:
the QPI and voltage....

You usually won't have to do anything with the QPI voltage or RAM timings...
m
l

Best solution

a b à CPUs
December 16, 2009 5:49:54 AM

stanktrain said:
I am trying to choose an i7 processor, and I wanted to get one that works with DDR3-1600, only to find out on Intel's website that the i7 series of processors (even the extreme editions) say they only support DDR3-1066 Max. Is this True!?

I have no knowledge of overclocking, and I don't think I am going to try to OC my system. If that is the case, is there any point to buying DDR3 ram higher than 1066? I had planned to get a 6 GB Mushkin Redline Kit DDR3-1600, but now I'm thinking this may be pointless, and I should look for a 6GB DDR3-1066 kit instead.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks