Sign in with
Your question

HELP => GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P

Last response: in Motherboards
March 17, 2010 7:16:06 AM

Hi guys,
I have this motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

My question is, I notice that the max I can installed internal hard drives is 3 for this mortherboard because I only see 3 SATA (yellow color on the board if you look at it). Is it true? Sorry this might sound like a noob question but im a noob when it comes to motherboard. SO THIS MOTHERBOARD MAX is 3?

-If the max is three, how do i get more than 3 hard drives in it for internal drives?

More about : gigabyte ma790x ud4p

March 17, 2010 9:11:19 AM

No the max isn't three... You have a total of eight onboard and all usuable sata ports... All the yellow and the purple could be filled... If and when you decide to fill them all and you need more ports for more drives, an add-in sata card could come in handy... The yellow ports and purple could all be used... Most folks like myself might use the yellow ports for the hardrives and purple sata ports for sata dvd drives if they work under different controllers... Usually, one controller is faster than the other... The yellow might be AMD SB750 controlled and the purple controlled by Jmicron... Hope i helped...
m
l
a c 177 V Motherboard
March 17, 2010 2:15:16 PM

The three yellow SATAs contain a pair of connectors each, and are run by the SB750 southbridge; if you hold the board 'edgewise', and peer into them, you will see that each has an opening for two of these plugs:

The pair of 'purple' connectors toward the bottom-right of the board, facing 'up', or toward you as you look at the board 'flat', each also accommodate one of these same plugs; the purple ones are run be a jMicron chip, are slower, and less 'robustly' supported - I usually recommend using these for SATA DVD/CD drives, and eSATA connectors...

m
l
Related resources