Sign in with
Your question

Random Restarts

Last response: in Systems
September 30, 2009 12:44:23 AM

Hello all i am a systems engineer and i have the computer from hell at home.

My problem is i get random resets as though i have pushed the reset button on my computer and its driving me nuts.

I have ruled out a hardware issue as i have replaced al lthe parts bar the ram with new ones i am leaning towards a software or driver issue but ill be damned if i can work out what one.

My Machine

Xaser VI Series Case
IntelĀ® Desktop Board DX48BT2
Quadcore Q9950 CPU
corsair ddr3 4 x 1gig sticks
Galaxy 8600 GT OC
2 x WD 500gig HDD
dvd burner

I have run every consevable test on the HDD and hardware and i am at a loss i have rebuilt the machine and i have started from scratch 4 times now and i still get the resets normaly it will reset within 15 min of me using the computer and some times with arround 15 min intervals then it will play ok during the day the main times it resets are between

6:15 -7:30
8:15 -9:00

during day hours on the weekend i can go 4 sometimes 5 hours without any issue.

there are no errors in the event viewer at all!!! and i have turned off that system restart on error in system. if i had a blue screen of death to work with it would be easy!!.

No viruses as i have completely formated my drive 3 times now and i have a new powersupply and motherboard.

I will run a fanin the system tonight to see if its an heating issue but i think it not likerly.

Any idea's???????

More about : random restarts

September 30, 2009 1:57:14 AM

First you could put the hard drive into another system if you have one. If it works there then we know its not that. Also try a different hard drive in the system you are having troubles with, or a different OS. This way we can figure our if it is a hard drive problem or not.
m
l
September 30, 2009 2:21:32 AM

Ran smart tests on both drives all came in the green no errors there.
m
l
Related resources
September 30, 2009 8:22:50 PM