Asus GTX560 DCII (For Battlefield 3)

Status
Not open for further replies.

aaron_c

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2009
Hey guys, I'm tinkering with MSI Afterburner and working on overclocking this new graphics card I got to run Battlefield 3 as the highest possible level. I have slowly bumped it up from 850 core/1700 shader MHz (factory) to 900/1800 and, with the GPU fan speed at 100%, have only reached 50*C for a few seconds at a time before dropping back off to 49*C. So far, as this is my first time to ever OC anything, I have two questions.

1. Why is it that this MSI Afterburner, even though I save the settings, just reverts to default settings if I change profiles? I'd like to have one standard/non-overclocked setting that will run quietly, and one overclocked with 100% fan speed for BF3..but it won't save. Is there potentially a better, but still user-friendly, program that I could use? Smartdoctor and other Asus OC programs crash BF3 for some reason.

2. Maybe more importantly, other than running into temps of 85+ or graphical errors, at what point should I stop increasing my clocks? How much is just too much, or can I theoretically just keep bumping it up no matter what until I get a reason not to?

Thanks in advance!

Solution
1. AFAIK that overclock only work with the active profile (the profile that did the OC) and not all overclocks at least that you change the BIOS of the GPU. Afterburner is the most friendly and used.
2. Your limit are the temps and voltage, so, as long as you can go with good temps and keep the GPU and rig stable try to do it.
1. AFAIK that overclock only work with the active profile (the profile that did the OC) and not all overclocks at least that you change the BIOS of the GPU. Afterburner is the most friendly and used.
2. Your limit are the temps and voltage, so, as long as you can go with good temps and keep the GPU and rig stable try to do it.

Solution

aaron_c

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2009