Sign in with
Your question

GTX 470 Overclocked and Now Problems

Last response: in Overclocking
January 3, 2012 11:30:41 AM

Hey all,

So I am a video editor and realized I could get some extra oomph out of my GTX 470 if I overclocked a bit to help out with the mercury playback engine. So using EVGA's precision tool I did just that. I wasn't sure what I was doing so I did some research and ended up using some settings found on the review of the card on Amazon of someone saying they were able to run at those settings on air cooling no problem.

So I did it and things were running fine, and I decided to do a restart. That's when the trouble started. I began to get a black screen where I could use the mouse to move around and that was it. The only thing I remember doing before this happened was clicking the "apply to startup" button in Precision. So I then wanted to undo this in safe mode but the program would not run.

After a few attempts at just restarting and getting nowhere I ended up on uninstalling Precision and the videocard drivers, which got me back to desktop. Windows 7 installed its own drivers, and I reinstalled precision.

I then uninstalled drivers, attempted to install the latest ones I downloaded, but for some reason it could not install and so I rebooted only to be met with a black screen again. Hit the reset button and met it again but decided to leave it for a while and hit ctrl alt del.

After a while, the prompt for task manager showed up and everything loaded. I installed the new driver and attempted to get back to editing but a box popped up saying it could not do Mercury Playback anymore, and when I tried to re-enable it, it was greyed out. I restarted the PC, and was met with a slower loading machine.