Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Core i5 Photo/Video/WebDev PC $500-$700 for 1st-time builder

Last response: in Systems
October 2, 2009 5:11:00 PM

BUDGET RANGE: $500-$700 APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Next 30 days

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Photo/video editing, Web development (Dreamweaver), iTunes, MS Office, Gaming (just looking for adequate support)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Windows 7 Professional OS, DVD burner (Sony DRU-810a), LCD monitor (Samsung SyncMaster 2232BW), keyboard/mouse

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg, ZipZoomFly, TigerDirect, Fry's COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: NC, USA

PARTS PREFERENCES:

Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80605I5750 - Retail

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe - considering because that seems to be the prevailing recommendation, but will need help since I've never done it before

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050 (existing Samsung 2232BW)

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

- Mid-tower case (no fancy windows or LEDs) that keeps things relatively cool and quiet, has front USB and Firewire (nice to have), fits 19x9x19 space
- at least 4GB RAM
- at least 500GB SATA II primary hard drive
- video card that will support HD video editing, playback and moderate gaming - have been looking at Radeon HD 4870
- reliable, well-supported motherboard - have been looking at Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2
- reliable, efficient power supply

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

- Will be adding 2 existing Seagate Barracuda PATA/100 drives (ST306504N1A0A-RK 650GB 7200RPM 16MB and ST3500641A-RK 500GB 7200RPM 16MB) for video / photo storage.

This will be my first build in over 5 years. So consider me a newbie. Looking for recommendations and appreciate any feedback.
October 2, 2009 5:29:02 PM

This Newegg combo is probably your best bet at meeting your budget and not skimping on parts quality.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?Ite...