Sign in with
Your question

New System, Home Built, Display will not turn on

Last response: in Systems
October 3, 2009 5:05:18 AM

Alright, I just finished putting together my first home-built system, I have never done this before. I read the manuals and followed each instruction tediously to install the motherboard, CPU, and various cards. Everything fit together nicely and every cord has a socket. My problem is that when I went to boot it for the first time, everything starts, fans run, lights turn on. My problem is that my display will not turn on. I have made sure that the connections around the board are solid. But I have no idea why this is happening. Did I miss a simple step? If anyone has a suggestion I would greatly appreciate it.

One other problem is that my case did not come with a system warning speaker, so I am not getting the beeps to let me know specifically the problem. Please Help.

Just to be clear, I know my graphics card works, i used it in my old computer. My hard drive is also from my old computer. The new parts are the motherboard, cpu, and ram.

Motherboard: Asus P7P55DE EVO
CPU: Intel i5 Quad Core 2.66 gHz
RAM: 4 gig DDR3 Corsair (came in a combo deal with the motherboard)
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 gig
PSU: Corsair TX 750

All comments appreciated, I feel like I am missing something simple...
October 3, 2009 5:57:08 AM

Also to be clear, I read the sticky thread, but most of those seem to assume that your display is receiving a signal, mine is not.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
October 3, 2009 5:58:07 AM

Just to make sure, you plugged in the power to the 4850 right?

Go through this check list to make sure you didnt skip over anything obvious, if it doesnt help it also contains a link to a site that sells case speakers for really cheap
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-read-postin...
m
l
Related resources
a c 78 V Motherboard
October 3, 2009 6:14:02 AM