Divingcatchtb

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2010
Hey guys, I'm a first time computer builder, so maybe I'm just making a noob mistake, but I have only my memory and CPU connected, but yet my ACPI S4_S5 LED keeps coming on. My power button is also lighting up, and when I power on my machine it powers on for a few seconds and cuts off. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Divingcatchtb

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2010
Very informative sticky, but I didn't find my problem within that thread. I've gotten my board to stay powered on, but I'm not getting any beeps from my mobo. I believe my RAM is possibly not posting.

You would need to have a speaker connected to the board to get beeps. I do not think that one has a built-in speaker.

I'm not sure what problem you are trying to fix at this point, but maybe that's just a lack of clarity.

You say your board, with CPU and RAM installed, will power up.... are you expecting it to POST without a GPU?

Hmmm the PSU is very poor indeed. There are not many PSU brands rated lower by those who know. There is no quality review on that one of course... they don't send their PSUs to quality reviewers.

There is no way of knowing if that's the issue really, unless a multimeter showed out-of-spec 12V. If it was fine on the multimeter it would still not mean it was OK.

The RAM should work, unless it's faulty of course. Did you try with each stick individually?

ekoostik

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
Get a case speaker as described in step 16 of the thread Proximon gave you: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-read-posting-boot-video-problems

Also, breadboarding is a good way to troubleshoot build issues: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-262730_13_0.html