2500k 4111MHz vcore 1.15 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmbun

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2012
Hello, I am very new to OC'g and would like to ask a question of someone more knowledgeable than I.
I have a 2500k in a GA-z68x-ud3h-b3 running at 4111Mhz (102.8x40) with a vcore setting of 1.15v & LLC level 5. Turbo is disabled and eveything else in the bios is pretty much auto. The system is pretty stable and I have run one Prime95 blend test for an hour with no problems. Temperatures are below 66C all 4 cores during the test. Core voltage is reported by AIDA64 at 1.16 idle and 1.18 under load.
My objective is to achieve a mild overclock without shorting the lifespan of the cpu to much.
1. Is it safe to run at this voltage?
2. Do you really have to run prime95 for hours to test if I'm not a gamer?
3. Is 105w under testing as aida64 reported for the cpu package abnormal?

Thanks for any replys and comments.

Solution
Check out my beginner's guide for a little more insight into some of this stuff. I posted it on Tom's here in overclocking, or you can just check out my blog (see signature).

Intel Burn Test is much more sensitive to errors and running a normal stress test with 25 passes will almost guarantee the CPU is stable. If you want to test the RAM, just change it to Maximum stress and do at least 5-10 runs.
It's ok with that voltage.
If you have errors with Prime 95 than your system is not stable.
Cpu's consume more power if they are under load.With Prime 95 your cpu is 100% load.
If you try to overclock more and if you don't have, buy an aftermarket cooler and replace the stock cooler.
The maximum safe voltage is 1.35V ( i heard from others)

it looks like you are tring to OC by raising your Bclk.