I5 2500k/Gigabyte z68 MB Overclocking question..

Philoso

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2011
Ok hi i just built myself a new rig using Intel i5 2500k cpu, Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 Motherboard, 8Gigs of Patriot 1600mhz ram, Radeon 5770 GPU, and 90Gig Vertex 3 SSD drive....im pretty new to overclocking and just wanna make sure i have everything set right.... I went into Bios and changed my cpu multiplier to x44 and OC'd too 4.4ghz i didnt mess with BLCK or voltages BLCK is still at 100mhz. I also change my memory too 16.00 in memory multiplier i think it was called...it was on 1066 by default...Are these settings fine? I ran stress tests with Intell Burn Test and Prime 95 and everthing seems to be good my max temp was like 68degrees on one of the cores...The reason im kinda worried is today i was messing around testing out my RESET button on my case to see if it would work and i guess i just powered off the cpu...When i booted back up it said computer failed to boot cuz of Overclocking settings i had changed in BIOS is t his normal or is something wrong? The comp didnt really fail to boot im not sure what its talking about it started up after i hit ok. I read that i didnt really need to worry about BLCK and voltages at a x44 multiplier and using a Corsair H50 Liquid cooler, im not sure if i did the memory right but it seemed correct seeing as the memory is suppose to run at 1600mhz...So was that just a false alarm from turning off the computer without shutting down or do i need to change my OC settings in BIOS...Any help would be appreicated, thanks alot
Sam

jgutz2006

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2009