Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking i7 950 Gigabyte GA - X58 USB3

Last response: in Overclocking
January 11, 2012 3:34:32 AM

Hi all,

I have just successfully overclocked my i7 950 Gigabyte GA - X58 USB3 from 3.1Ghz to 4.2Ghz. I'm proud of that if I may say so lol, its my first attempt.

To do this I was using a guide I found on the net, even though I don't have this exact same setup as in the guide, I was still using it as a reference:
http://www650.megaupload.com/files/41621278042278427d53...(ENG).pdf

I don't expect anyone to d/l the guide only do so at your own will.

To test the stability of the overclock I used a program called SP2004 and ran it on all 4 cores and let it run for over ten minutes and the CPU temps never went above 71 degrees celsius. Also I have my Corsair CPU cooler on medium setting so can still go higher if I needs be.

Settings I changed to get my 4.2Ghz overclock:
(original state left number, changed state right number)

CPU Clock ratio: 23 - 21
QPI clock ratio: 4.8 - 7.2 (x36)
Uncore clock ratio: x13
Bclock frequency: 133 - 200
System memory multiplyer: 8.0 - 6.0
CPU Vcore: 1.625 - 1.4000
QPI/Vtt voltage: 1.175 - 1.515

Using a Corsair H80 Cooler.

Anyways to the questions I have. The author of the guide suggested to lower the sys mem multiplyer because he then could use a better process of elimination if the computer fails to boot, which it doesn't, if I use the settings as I have above. Now, is the sys mem multiplyer essentially the speed that the sys mem is runing at? At 6.0(1200) its a little slow currently right? So how would I get it back to normal or even higher? Because now if I try to raise it any higher the com fails to boot. Would this be to not enough voltage? if so then what setting should I change to remedy this?