Help with Choosing Correct Ports for Multiple Drives

oobe_banoobe

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2011
I need some help in figuring out the best situation for plugging in my multiple hard drives and optical drive. This is my first build and here are the parts I am struggling with.

I currently have one Crucial M4 128gb SATA III 6GB/s SSD which will be for my OS and a few programs. For my storage, I have a Hitachi 1.5tb SATA III 7200 prm 6gb/s HDD, and have ordered one more for a RAID 1 mirror array (I think I have concluded this speed was a bit unnecessary, but they were the same price as any other). And finally I have a basic Asus DVD burner. My motherboard is the MSI Z68a-GD65 (B3).

-SSD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148448

-HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145520

-DVD Burner: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204

-Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130602

I'm not sure the best way to plug in the multiple drives to get the most out of what I have purchased. For one, I really didnt know about Intel vs Marvell controllers. I am planning on plugging in the SSD to the Intel 6GB/s, but I am unsure on the others.

Should the RAID 1 array go into the Marvell 6gb/s or into the Intel 3GB/s?

Should the optical drive go into the Marvell 6Gb/s or into the Intel 3GB/s?

Looking for advice on the best possible configuration.

Thank you!

Solution
You are correct. Connect your SSD to the Intel SATA III port.

It doesn't matter if you connect your RAID-1 to the Intel SATA II or the Marvell SATA III port since 2 HDDs in RAID-1 will not saturate either port, however, I personally would connect it to the Intel controller and use Intel's latest RST drivers.

Then connect the optical drive to the Marvell controller.

P.S. - Don't forget to set the SATA mode of the Intel SATA III to AHCI