Intel matrix, ICH8/9/10. Mount an old volume.

apsvets

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2011
Hi Pro:s! :)

First of all, English isn't my native language, i hope u can understand me.

I start with a short story so you know what i am talking about. About 18 months ago a build a new "server" based on a Intel-labeled motherboard and four WD 2.0TB sata-hdds (and of course other components). This four hdds are directly connected to motherboards sata-connectors and i use the onboard ICHx-controller to setup a Raid5 volume for security. (I work as a professional one-man-company photographer and need a lot of secure storage space.)

6 months ago one of the disc broke down. A had make a e-mail alert rule in "Intel Matrix Storage Console". One disc was "broken" and shown as a red X. The volume was still accessible but i was realy worried about all my pictures! Western Digital told me that their products normally don't brake down (...) and ask me send ALL of my four disc to them. I could not do that, it is impossible for me to backup 6-7 TB data, post a package and wait for a new package from them. I had to buy four new disc, transfer all data and, well.. look happy and smile.. :??:

Yesterday one of the new hdd:s failure! (god, gimme a bridge to jump from) Not again, i was thinking! Today ONE MORE disc shown up with a red X and the volume is not accessible. 2 out of 4 disc are broken.

As i told u, i have the 4 original discs saved. Three of this is (was..) working and my plan was to remount those, reconfigure the storage conroller to be able to again backup all data. I have a new QNAP TS419U+ in front of me to replace this crappy WD-hardware. (hope its not WD hardware inside this box...)

In the software "Intel Matrix Storage Monitor" there is 2 option. 1= Create Raid Volume , 2= Create Raid Volume from existing hard drive.