Need to overclock... will these other components be okay?

davbeisner

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2009
I'm a professional video editor and have hit the max my current system will take. I can't afford to upgrade to a new system, but I do need to get more power out of what I've got. I've been told that my current CPU and MOBO are an excellent combination for OC'ing, but I'm concerned that my other components won't do well with an overclock. Here's my current system specs for you:

Intel i7-920 (D0 revision) processor, 2.67 GHz stock, running at 2.8GHz since I manually set the multiplier to 21x and turned off EIST yesterday.
Stock Intel heatsink and fan
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution Mobo
12 GB DDR3 1333 MT/s memory
nVidia GTX 285 1GB Graphics card
RocketRaid 231x PCIe Raid controller
Wireless PCIe card
Seasonic 80 Plus cert. 700 Watt Power Supply
Windows 7x64 Ultimate

Internal drives (All WD Enterprise drives):
1x 250 GB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 for OS/Programs
1x 500 GB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 for Pagefile, Photos, Graphics, Audio, other files
3x 1TB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 in onboard RAID-5 for Video Project files
1x 1TB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 for Video export files
1x DVD-RW (Sata)
1x BD-RE (Sata)

External drives (all independently powered):
4x 2TB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0 in RocketRaid Raid-5 for Video Data (GSpeed eS array)
2x 2TB 7200 RPM in Raid-0 via eSata for backup (Western Digital backup drive)
1x 2TB 7200 RPM Firewire 800 for backup
1x 1TB 7200 RPM eSata for backup
1x 400 GB Sata 3.0 in external enclosure via eSata for backup

All this is in a full-tower case, and the computer was originally manufactured by the BOXX corporation about 3 years ago.