Status
Not open for further replies.

kilcondlost

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2011
This is my first time ever posting but I've been reading for a while seems like a good forum. Anyways I bought a computer 2 years ago and never knew much about it. Well now that I'm not able to work I've started to take a huge interest in my computer and never knew how much I love working on it though it can be very stressful.
Well anyways I had an Asetek 510LC liquid cooler 120mm radiator with a push/pull set up. My computer at the time was i7 920@ 3.3ghz 1.3v which was what it was set at from the computer building company. Didn't know then that the volts did not need to be near that high. It was running at 30-32C idle and would normally hit 80C+ under stress test. Mind you I would always shut it down right as it hit 80C because I never felt comfortable. But now I bought a Asetek LCLX 240mm radiator/pump self contained unit. Under the same clocking I was at 67C load which seemed fine and now I'm at 3.9ghz 76C load. My main question is while at idle my computer is running at 34C at both 3.3 and 3.9ghz and I'm really unsure about my thremal paste job as it was my first time and I screwed it up twice. While applying it it hit my sleeve slipped all around and I used my thumb in a plastic bag to put it on. I believe the new radiator is making a good difference but since its higher at idle it makes me think that it doesn't have as good of connection as the old one but since its a better radiator its still able to help more at higher temps. Let me know if this makes since to anyone else. My full specs are i7 920@ 3.9ghz 1.25v 34C-76C Idle/Load
ATI Radeon 4890 1gb GDDR5
Asus P6T
3x2gb Corsair Dominator 1600mhz @1500
3x2gb Kingston Hyperx 1800mhz @1500
Corsair 800w PSU
Asetek 240mm Rad/Pump WC
PUSH=2xUltra Kaze 120mm 133CFM PULL=1xCoolerMaster 84CFM 1xStock 33CFM
5 Intake Fans 3 Exhaust fans not including radiator

Solution