Why exactly overclock?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yanjustin98

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2012
I'm pretty new to the whole hardware concepts and all, and OC is not exactly a new concept to me. I still don't quite grasp the meaning of overclocking to the extreme though. Is air cooling sufficient enough for overclocking say 1 GHz? Liquid cooling is expensive and seems to me like a really addict option to doing whatever you do. I find it hard to grasp the concept of overclocking that much, but I am still new to the whole thing. Could you guys help explain to me how it works and why exactly people do it to such an extreme? I would normally think even just 3.5 GHz is fine for playing the new FPS games and RPGs that require a bit of GPU and CPU power. I don't see going to 4.0 GHz and beyond. If you guys could inform me on the topic and teach me a little that would be great. Thanks!

Solution
And not all Water coolers do it for extreme overclocks,
I did it because I love engineering challenges,

to a point overclocking helps you get a little (or a lot) more power for your money,
theres obviously the bragging rights for a mad O/c Bro!
a lot of people do it to try to get the highest clocks, and some need to do it to make their system last a little while longer, hang around here a while and you'll soon pick things up mate :)
Moto

Overclocking has always been about getting more than what you paid for, it's like an untapped resource that requires knowledge for you to be able to tap it, some motherboards allow a controlled automatic overclock and I would suggest you either take that route or get down to seriously studying and researching how to do it.

Overclocking to extreme means different concepts to different people, to me extreme is overclocking cooling with LN2 (Liquid Nitrogen), but to you extreme may mean a high end Air Cooler or Water Cooling, most do relate extreme to exceeding the CPUs rated voltage range.