Sign in with
Your question

N00b alert - Which computer to get?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 19, 2009 3:37:20 PM

Sorry guys total noob here. :( 

I'm looking to get a computer for Christmas and I need help deciding which one.

Which one of these is the best for running GTA:IV?

Acer Aspire M7300

Processor: AMD Phenom II X3 710 (2.6GHz, 2MB Cache)
RAM: 6GB
HDD: 1.5TB
Graphics Card: 1GB ATI Radeon HD 485

Dell Studio XPS 8000

Processor: Intel Core i7-860 (2.80GHz, 8MB, L3 Cache)
RAM: 4096MB 1067 MHz Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM [4x1024]
HDD: 1TB
Graphics Card: 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GT220 graphics card

Dell XPS 430

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q8400 (4M Cache, 2.66 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)
RAM: 6144MB 1066 MHz Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM [2x2048 + 2x1024]
HDD: 1TB
Graphics Card: 512MB ATI Radeon 4850 Graphics card

More about : n00b alert computer

a b U Graphics card
October 19, 2009 3:40:04 PM

The GT220 is NOT a good solution for GTA IV. So unless you can upgrade the graphics card, I wouldn't do the Dell XPS 8000.
The Acer has the best video card in it (if that's a 4850) as it has 1GB of memory. The 512MB 4850 in the Dell XPS 430 will be limited quite a bit due to the lower memory. GTA IV likes a lot of video memory in order to turn up the graphics settings.

All in all, the Dell XPS 8000 has the best CPU by far. The i7-860 is your best CPU listed.

My guess is though, you can build a much better system for less money if you do it yourself. Dell is going to charge you a premium for graphics card upgrades and anything else you do.

EDIT: If you're building or buying a new PC for gaming, I would not do anything less than:

Minimum: ATI 1GB 4850 or GTS 250
Recommended: ATI 1GB 4870 or GTX 260 (or Higher)
October 19, 2009 3:49:02 PM

Building isn't an option atm. :( 

The XPS 800 has the option to upgrade to a Single 1GB Nvidia GeForce GTS 240 Graphics Card, is that better?
Related resources
October 19, 2009 4:20:51 PM