Sign in with
Your question

Need help on computer upgrade.

Last response: in Systems
October 6, 2009 7:14:17 AM

Hi, I'm new to toms hardware, but was wondering if anyone knew what upgrades I need to be able to play Left 4 Dead on full settings, no AA, at 1400x900.
Or Team Fortress 2 full settings, no AA, at 1400x900. Whatever one needs less computer power :sol: 

My computer specs are listed here: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=751179

Thanks in Advance.

More about : computer upgrade

a c 113 B Homebuilt system
October 6, 2009 8:24:55 AM

That doesn't tell me much really. Based on the motherboard model I'm guessing this is an HP computer.

Please list the computer model number and any information you have on the power supply.
October 6, 2009 8:51:31 AM

Proximon said:
That doesn't tell me much really. Based on the motherboard model I'm guessing this is an HP computer.

Please list the computer model number and any information you have on the power supply.

That information is unnecessary. The resolution has very basic requirements. Unfortunately it would have been nice to know how much you'd like to spend, but regardless I'm going to go ahead and recommend the HD 4770. It's powerful, very power efficient (40nm design), and will probably even allow you to run anti-aliasing on both of those games with the settings at max.

If you don't want to spend that much, an HD 4670 is your next best deal. After that, I don't care to recommend anything, as I don't see the point in getting anything lower for gaming. :p 
Related resources
October 6, 2009 3:13:58 PM

^yes I agree with brockh the 4770 is your best bet
a c 83 B Homebuilt system
October 6, 2009 3:19:51 PM

Firetaffer said:
Hi, I'm new to toms hardware, but was wondering if anyone knew what upgrades I need to be able to play Left 4 Dead on full settings, no AA, at 1400x900.
Or Team Fortress 2 full settings, no AA, at 1400x900. Whatever one needs less power :sol: