Sign in with
Your question

Putting New Motherboard in Saturday-any key things to remember?

Last response: in Motherboards
March 26, 2010 12:51:15 AM

I am changing the motherboard on Saturday. I have never done this before, but it doesn't look too difficult. I am pretty good with computers-changed basically everything else in a computer except for this.

I am going from an AMD x2 6000 to an I5-750.

I know the board will fit-it is a Micro Atx.

I am just not sure what other things I need to do/remember to make sure the process runs relatively smoothly.

Any tips? Thank you in advance.

Jim
a b V Motherboard
March 26, 2010 2:19:59 AM

Spend a little while reading the manual beforehand.

Take a couple of pictures beforehand. Just so you don't end up forgetting where/how to plug in connectors later.

Ground yourself while working.

Give yourself plenty of time (not tired) and a large workspace (dining table great).

Keep any pets, particularly cats (and rodent like dogs) away.

And if anything seems out of place, post and ask.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
March 26, 2010 6:32:53 AM

If you're not replacing the other components at the same time, remember you need to reformat the hard drive and reinstall Windows once you have the new mobo in.

If you don't, you'll be stuck in driver conflict hell and your system will crash all the time, if it works at all. That's one thing they don't tell you anywhere, and you learn the hard way the first time you try to replace just the motherboard.

Also, have you changed a CPU before? If not, don't forget the thermal paste. It's hugely important.

Also, things go a lot easier if you attach the CPU, heatsink, and memory BEFORE you put the board into the case.
m
l
Related resources
March 26, 2010 8:01:53 AM

Watch some Youtube videos on applying thermal paste. I found some of them quite good.

This is a good cabling guide, because some of the cables might look similar:http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors....