Updating Dell Dimension 4550 Motherboard

BNunley

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2009
I'm a newbie at computer part upgrade, so with limited knowledge I wanted to upgrade my dell's motherboard to one with a PCI-e port. Unfortunately I've just noticed that the old motherboard is attached to a tray. Is it still possible to attach my new Asus motherboard inside the dell case? There is no screw holes only places for the motherboard tray to slide in. And also the motherboard tray is too small to hold the Asus if that was a possible route. This may seem like a duh question - but do I need just to get a new case? :pfff:

Solution
No problem. Looking at the new board there isn't alot you can transfer from the old computer to the new one. Your CPU uses 478 socket not the lga 775 that the asus uses so no matter what some one says about Pentium 4 working on 775 keep in mind it's a different specification. Also your RAM memory won't work with the new board ( again wrong dimm slot type). So if you really wanted to make the board work you would have to buy a new case and most the internal components. Witch might not be a bad idea then you would have a better computer more impotently the computer you have now has a lot of miles on it and no matter how much we hate it eventually everything breaks down. You might buy a new board for this computer just to have something...
If you've never changed out a motherboard before, I don't recommend upgrading the dell. Most new oem systems use a standard atx or micro atx board; you'll see some after xmas sales. My local frys has complete systems with windows 7 starting at $249. Just leave the dell intact; sell it or use it for a spare.

imannotu

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2008