Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Overclocking i5-2400

Last response: in Overclocking
January 17, 2012 2:32:12 AM

I'm new to overclocking, so please help me out here.
Detailed steps would be nice.

I have a i5-2400
ASUS P8P67 LE
3x120mm & 1x140mm Fans

(I don't want to do a lot of it, just a little)
Thanks in advance

More about : overclocking 2400

January 17, 2012 2:47:45 AM

I'm just warning you, I don't think it's possible to overclock that CPU much at all.
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 17, 2012 2:24:27 PM

Hi Krostine,

Unfortunately, the 2400 comes with a locked multiplier. The only overclocking you'd be able to do is by adjusting the base frequency which I would not recommend. The base clock frequency can only be changed very slightly without causing complete system instability. The gains you would see by adjusting the base clock would not be worth the system instability.

If want to overclock, you would need one of the k series CPUs

m
l
Related resources
January 17, 2012 7:42:08 PM

Thanks for the reply, I'm wondering if there is anyway to make this computer faster?

I've already done those "how to make computer boot-up faster"

any changes I could do on the BIOS that is not risky?
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 17, 2012 8:31:05 PM

The only ways to overclock a 2400 is by either adjust the BCLK/FSB or the turbo boost. The BCLK/FSB for the SB chips has been known to break things, so don't do that. :lol:  By adjusting the maximum turbo frequency, I have seen people get pretty decent clocks, but that is a little different than regular overclocking. If you wanted to OC, you should have gotten a 2500k with an unlocked multiplier.
m
l
January 17, 2012 8:40:04 PM

What is maximum turbo frequency?
Is it dangerous?
How can I do this?
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 17, 2012 8:46:23 PM