Which motherboard would compliment the Intel i7 860 best?

claykirk13

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2010
Hiya, I decided to make it a project this summer to build a new computer seemings it's something I've never done before and I've saved up a little cash. I decided to start with the processor and I've got my eye on the Intel i7 860 right now. I understand that now the motherboard I buy needs to be compatible with the 860 processor (you know LGA1156 and all). I've been researching motherboards for the last couple of days, but the concept still confuses the heck out of me. I want a motherboard that has good features, is reliable and is compatible with my processor. I'd like to use DDR3 ram in this computer project of mine and hopefully find a good value mid to high end GPU like a GTX 260. I'm mentioning all this because (I still have no idea about motherboards and..) it might be relevant.

All I'd like really is a couple good suggestions for me to look at. I don't want to end up buying something I'll regret.

Thanks a lot,
Clay

Solution
According to your need
you don't really need a fancy motherboard
If I were you I would consider gigabyte p55a-ud3p
It has enough feature for you if you decide to try overclocking
and is future ready with USB3, sata3... you never know when will you need usb 3.o
This board does not support sli but it does support Crossfire (2 Ati graphic card)
But since you are not a heavy gamer.. so you don't really need a sli or crossfire feature.

Gigabyte also claim this board is "ultra durable"...which is yet to be tested personally...

Questions:
Budget?
Are you going to use two or more graphic cards?
Are you going to overclock/need a board with lots of overclocking features?
Do you need/want SATA III/USB 3.0?
Do you think you really need an i7? If you're mainly going to be gaming, then an i5 is very good already. If you plan to use it for heavy intensive apps which can use HyperThreading, or feel that the i7 is more future-proofed, than nevermind.