Sign in with
Your question

First time builder first time boot question

Last response: in Systems
October 9, 2009 4:51:15 AM

Hey everyone, I've been asking quite a few questions on these forums lately as I'm putting together my first custom computer and have found you all to be very helpful but I do need a bit more help. You see, I'm not sure how to go about starting the machine up for the first time and what's involved in this. I have 3 options of operating system discs to use if this helps: windows xp, windows vista home premium and windows 7 release candidate edition.
A list of my components I'll have in my build:
CPU: Intel core I5
MOBO: ASUS P7P55D pro edition
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz
PSU: Corsair TX750W
DVD: BenQ 24X SATA DVD writer
CPU Cooler: Arctic cooling freezer 7 pro rev.2
HDD: 250gb SATA Seagate Barracuda (I have a 1tb version of this from a friend I hope to use also)
GPU: HSI Radeon HD 5850 1gb
CASE: Coolermaster HAF 922 mid tower

I have no knowledge of how the whole start up part works which is why I'm hoping the great people here can help me on this part :D 
If you have any recommendations for when i put the thing together (doing it tomorrow) then PLEASE speak up, last thing I want is all that money and work go to waste because I didn't do something correctly. I'll be building it using an anti-static wrist strap I picked up for a couple of dollars and doing it on a wooden floor and wooden table.
Thanks All!! :) 
Jared
October 9, 2009 5:32:43 AM

Just set the BIOS to boot from the DVD drive, insert the OS disk and boot up. Follow the prompts.
m
l
October 9, 2009 5:54:39 AM

Thanks mate and how do I go about doing this? thanks for your patience
m
l
Related resources
October 9, 2009 6:04:29 AM

Will do. thanks. does any1 know what os i should use tho?
m
l
October 9, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Make sure keyboard is plugged into the computer.

1. Let the good old Asus splash screen go through.