Basic RAID 1 Set up Question

bpatters55

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2007
Hello All,

I would like to set up RAID on my PC. I have a 485GB drive as my primary drive with a 300GB drive as my second drive. All my apps are on the 485GB drive and my data is on the 300GB drive. My thought is to replace the 300GB drive with a 1TB drive and set it up in RAID 1 (Mirroring) with the 485GB drive. From what I have read in my manual, I can do this without reinstalling the OS or having to reinstall my apps. Am I on the right track? Can I keep the existing 485GB drive and establish the RAID or do I have to reinstall the OS? Any problems with the two drives being different sizes? Would I still be able to use the full capacity of the 1TB drive? Thx

Yes, you can use different size drives in your RAID, but for best performance you would want them to be the same make, model, & size.

I’m no expert in RAID but I thought that when you initially create a RAID array all partitions on all drives in the array being created are deleted. Double check your motherboard manual and/or backup your data to be safe.

The capacity of a RAID-1 array is one-half the sum of all the drives in the array.
So your unformatted capacity will be 742.5 GB.

tokencode

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2010
That is not correct, if you were to mirror (RAID1) those two drives you would have a total capacity of 485GB. It is exactly the capacity of the smallest drive in the mirror.

If both drives are identical it would be 1/2 the total capcity so essentiall you would be wasting about 1/2 your 1TB drive. Any RAID configuration is really best suited for identical drives. If you are doing this for redundacy purposes, consider imaging 1 drive to the other on a nightly basis.