AMD calls Nvidia's marketing bluff.

jennyh

Splendid
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=20820

Key points :-

Huddy told HEXUS NVIDIA tended to work on a "different philosophy" to AMD. "AMD is competing on the basis of technology, whereas Nvidia is competing on the basis of marketing" he told us, adding, "I'm not a marketing guy, I'm an engineer".

"We've been working on DX11 games," said Huddy emphasising that, last time around, it had taken NVIDIA at least six months after DX10 launched before any game titles followed. AMD is working on over 20 titles currently in development, with two titles - BattleForge and Stalker - already available in DX11.

"NVIDIA is simply trying to market its way out of being late out with DX11 hardware"

brockh

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2007
I'm glad ATi is actually pushing DirectX 11. Even though I don't plan on upgrading to a DirectX 11 card any time soon, I'm so sick of hearing about games still using DirectX 9. It's almost like people are using a "Don't fix it if it isn't broken" mentality for technology, christ -- If there's one place to not use that mentality.

Also I think it's funny people are saying DirectX 11 is gonna be like 10 when, like mentioned in the post, there's already a good handful of games out citing it even before it was released officially, when it took DirectX 10 six months. Please. :p We can't say that NVidia seems to want to push any new technology on anyone, they seem to be happy with reusing things, if you know what I mean. :sarcastic:

IzzyCraft

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2008
And their new gpu design that is great for high end computing ie to replace their Tesla line is not a great little marvel of design.

Did huddy also mention that when nvidia released a card the G80 it totally crushed the 2k series that ATI had out?