Overclocking GTX 460

dre2626

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011
hi guys im new at this so please bare with me ..... my question is >i bought a MSI GTX 460 Hawk today and done some overclocking, i got too 930mhz with a bump of 100mv , now i wanna no is there any way i can make afterburner or any other software allow me to pump more power to the card to get a higher OC? my temps is excellent at the moment, its at 62c under stress while OC now i wanna OC more ..........is there anything i can do ? and what OC have your gotten?>>>>the hawk is good at keeping temps down............. oh and i have tried editing the afterburner cfg file but no luck so all that i can think of is bios editing , is that worth doing and is the gains worth it? thanks Dre all replies will be appreciated :hello:

D

Deleted member 217926

930 core is a crazy high GTX 460 overclock. Stock is 675. I run mine at 820-1640-2000. You sure those temps are that low under load? If so I would leave it alone. Even with the review sites testing every brand made when the card came out ~900Mhz core was about as high as any card could do.

drumsrule786

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2011
Yeah dude your fine where you are, I have mine at 850, could go a little high but sometimes I have stability issues then. If you pump too many volts into the card the lifetime of the gpu will be cut by a lot. There's a reason they put a limit on afterburner.

dre2626

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011