Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Questions about building a home server

Last response: in Components
December 28, 2009 7:54:27 PM

I made a post in the New System Build area, but then after looking around I found this Server area, so I think this might be a better place, but I'm not sure since my questions are more for building a home server so I can learn about them, and not building one for professional purposes. But I really want to learn about servers, and I figure the best way to do that is build one from scratch and learn it the trial and error way. As a student, I get a free license for Windows Server 2008, so I was thinking about using that as an OS, but Ubuntu is always a solid option (and would force me to get more familiar with Linux beyond simple user use.)

Since I have never built a box to be used as a server, I am hesitant on what to purchase. I am wanting to use the server for File Sharing/FTP and Web Hosting.

I already have a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 RPM 1.5 TB SATA 32 MB Cache, and I was thinking about picking up a second one.

As for a motherboard and Processor, I was thinking:

Intel
E5200 - 2.5GHz and a GIGABYTE GA-G41M-ES2L

or

AMD Athlon II x2 3.0GHz with either GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H or GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P

I want to go with 2GB ram for now, I haven't found anywhere that recommends going to 4GB for a home server.

Even though the CPUs are both low watts, I plan on getting about a 600 or 700 watt to make sure I have enough power for my HDDs and room to grow.

The Antec Three Hundred looks like it has enough bays for growth.

Anyone have an opinion about using Intel or AMD over the other, or any issues that anyone has come across building a home server with any of that hardware? Or any other suggestions that anyone has?

Thanks,
Jake
December 28, 2009 8:02:14 PM

The Athlon II X2 3.0GHz will:
1. Perform better
2. Socket last longer & more upgradeable
m
l
December 28, 2009 8:13:55 PM