Will I notice an i7 processor on a non-gaming laptop?

magnesium

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2009
Hi folks,

Longtime reader of Tom's Hardware forums, etc., but this is my first post here.

I'm planning on buying a MacBook Pro (and installing Linux on it). The current specs I'm looking at are:

■2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor with 3MB on-chip shared L2 cache
■1066MHz frontside bus
■4GB of 1066MHz DDR3 memory
■NVIDIA GeForce 9400M integrated graphics processor with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory
■250 GB 5400 rpm SATA HDD

There are rumors that at February's Macworld Expo they may release a version of the Macbook pro with Core i7 processor. Y'all are the hardware people...if I were to put a Core i7 in that same lineup as above, what kind of a difference would I notice? I'm not a gamer, and am mostly looking for portability and battery life, but I sometimes do computationally intensive mathematics and simulations (I'm a physicist).

Of course, the Apple rumors would have to be true (we all know how reliable those are, right? ;) ) and they would have to have the i7 in the 13" I'm looking at, and it would have to be at a price range I'm comfortable with...but supposing that you could put an i7 in that lineup without a huge price increase, would it be worth the wait? And would I notice it?

Thanks in advance,

Mg

magnesium

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2009