Sign in with
Your question

Help with new build for Linux

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
December 28, 2009 9:16:43 PM

Hi I am new to this and could use some help with building a new system.
the following is a list of the components .
Diablo tek phd650w power supply
Gigabyte ep45-ud3r motherboard
Intel core 2 quad q9550
Corsair cm2x1024-8500 c5d memory using 4 sticks
EVGA Ge Force 9500gt 1gb video card
Sabrent ultra ata 100/133 raid pci raid controller card ( with 2 120 gig Maxtor drives)
Sound blaster live sound card
OS will be ether Ubuntu or Mepis Linux.
Will the stock fan that comes with the cpu be ok or should I upgrade?
I would only over clock the system if I need to get the memory up to speed. I am more interested in compatibility and reliability.

More about : build linux

a c 173 à CPUs
December 29, 2009 5:07:43 AM

You are wasting your money with an Intel Q9550. It costs as much as an i7 920 and isn't as good.

You could go the i7 920/1366 way or invest in an 1156 setup. The best value can be found in:

1) suitable 1156 motherboard
2) i5-750 Intel CPU
3) 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
4) Corsair 650W
5) HD4770

since you are going with Linux you may need to double-check on video card driver support. You may even prefer onboard video but I'd recommend something in ATI or NVidia and newer such as ATI 3xxx/4xxx or NVidia 8xxx/9xxx.

Stock fan: You can get a heatsink/fan combo that is much quieter but it will cost money. There are lots of reviews and comments. Start with NCIX. I recommend starting with stock and see if it bothers you. I'd spend at least $40 to $70 on a good heatsink/120mm fan combo.

Sound card: be sure that the card will support Linux. My Audigy 2 did. My Auzentech Forte X-Fi does not.

*the PSU is the most important part of your system. Don't skimp. Do NOT buy a PSU without reading a review. You will actually get some of your money back over the years due to higher efficiency.