HELP: 1st time overclocker Q6600

MrFilmMaker

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
Hello everyone,

I have a Q6600 and I need to squeeze a bit more out of it. The thing is I am a total NooB when it comes to overclocking.

I'd like to get a bit more out of it without voltage or memory increase. I believe that is around 2.8?

I'd really appreciate any guide for dummies to the bios step by step to over clocking to the max WITHOUT playing with voltage/RAM speed.

I have attahced CPU -z images

Help is highly appreciated.

cpucpu.jpg

cpumainboard.jpg

cpumemory.jpg

cpuspeed.jpg

MrFilmMaker

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008

Alex The PC Gamer

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2007
You might be able to bring your CPU higher than 2.4Ghz without increasing your FSB but... why would you not want to increase voltage?

The beauty of the Q6600 is that even an unexperienced user can easily OC a Q6600 to 3Ghz. As for a guide to OCing, i'd recommend Google (search your motherboard's name and add "overclocking", you'll get tones of results (perhaps even videos that'll take your through it).

Good luck.

MrFilmMaker

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
After looking at BIO I realized asus MB had aLEVEL UP feature that allows automatic overclock. Options it has when selected: QX6700, 6800, 6850 and crazy.

QX6700 = 2.66 Gigahertz, QX6800 =2.93 Gigahertz QX6850 = 3.0 (there is also a crazy option but not sure of its speed)

So does that mean everything else (RAM,Voltage) is adjusted automatically? Anyone familiar with that feature?

So does that mean selecting one of these, it will OC and automatically adjust all other settings?.

deadlee690

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2009
the only way to oc a q6600 is with a increase to the cpu fsb. the 1066 is the speed of your ram. i have a q6600 running prime 95 stable at 3400mhz with a cpu fsb 377 and a cpu voltage of 1.58750v

Alex The PC Gamer

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2007