Sign in with
Your question

No graphics but I think it may be either the CPU or motherboard

Last response: in CPUs
December 29, 2009 2:35:56 AM

Hi, this is my first time to post, my problem is I am trying to upgrade my motherboard and cpu ,I bought a Gigabyte GA-819159 duo with a p4 3.4 MHz combo on ebay ,and the first thing I find is my agp graphics card won't fit so I get a new one (radeon hd4650)so I hook everything up and I get nothing so I get on the internet and find out which pin is supposed to have power (#9 pin has 5v )from my vga adapter and I get my vom out and sure enough there's 5v coming from my graphics card,now I'm believing it could a bad monitor so I change monitors with my wife's and still the same thing ,no graphics at all so now I have to believe it is either my motherboard or cpu ,Is there a way to eliminate the good stuff from the bad?
I have win xp home ,my power is 350w but I had to buy an adapter to make it a 24 pin,I have 750MB ram,when I turn the computer on all the fans come on but nothing else happens.I have taken the graphics card out and reinstalled it,
Thank you in advance for your help

Jearl
December 29, 2009 1:01:26 PM

Quote:
You bought it from eBay, right?

First off, the stuff you got from ebay might be destroyed by the previous owner-so reject all products
Second, check online( if you have an operatable computer) and see system requirements for ALL components( that may take a while, but it is cheaper that way)
Last, seek new hardware and OS. this stuff looks out-dated( no offense). There is some great stuff that you can get to build a brand new system under 800 dollars!

Hope this is helpfull!
dogman_1234
P.S. Don't buy electronic hardware from ebay, the previous owner might of abused it and is looking for money. Buy it ONLY if it is NEW and still FACTORY SEALED! That is a sure-end policy of good equipment!