Video Card for 19" monitor, 720p TV

dumpsta

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2009
Hi there

I was wondering if someone can help me choose between :

9600gt - $70 "Good 1680x1050 performance in most games"
HD4850 - $100 "Exceptional 1680x1050 performance in most games, 1920x1200 in most games with some lowered detail"

quotes are from Tom's Hardware article "Best video cards for the money sep '09"

I'm aware that the faster card is obviously better, but considering the 1280x1024 max resolution of my monitor, would it be overkill? I'm also planning on hooking up my 40" 720p television (which I've never done before) which would be using 1280x720.

It seems that most of the newer cards out there are geared towards larger monitors with higher resolutions. I'm also not planning on getting a larger monitor.

I'm not a huge fan of FP shooters, but I do like to play them from time to time. I liked modern warfare 1 and I'd like to play the sequel when it comes out. I'm more of a fan of strategy games or games where i can sit back and use my gamepad controller.

I currently have

Athlon xp 4000 (OC to 2.7ghz single core)
Nvidia 6600gt

I'm planning on replacing my cpu/mb/ram in the near future, depending on how much of an improvement the video card gets me. Thanks for any recommendations and for reading this post ;)

redwine01

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2008