Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Sub $900 i5 build

Last response: in Systems
October 12, 2009 6:28:48 PM

Hi, this is my first build but I've been researching for a while now. It goes something like this
Its a bit for gaming, and a bit for heavy apps like photoshop and flash. Theres a chance for things such as 3d rendering and what not

CPU and MoBo
i5
ASUS P7P55D Pro Socket 1156 P55 ATX
http://www.microcenter.com/specials/promotions/corei5.h...
$320

and Ram
not sure about this one, maybe ?
2x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB DDR3 1600 CL7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
$190

or
CPU
i5
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml...
$160

Ram and Mobo
GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD3R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?Ite...
$215
Additional Ram
$95

Then theres the:
GPU
XFX Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
$120 (i got it when it had a rebate)

Case, PSU, and HD
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM
Antec Twelve Hundred 750 Blue Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
Antec TruPower 750W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?Ite...
$250

CD/DVD burner
isn't necessarily needed, but I suppose I'll keep an eye out for one

Ive got a couple questions:
Any suggestions between the Motherboards?
Any suggested Optical Drives?
Should i get a CPU Cooler? and if so what kind
I was also thinking about getting 8gigs of mem

More about : 900 build

October 12, 2009 6:48:37 PM

Both options look good - you found some good combo deals.
Are you sure the CD is optional? How do you plan to load the OS and applications? Or did you have an old one you can use?
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
October 12, 2009 6:55:33 PM