Gaming CPU - Which One Should I Get?

acidischemical

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2009
*NOTE, I know I have written a lot, you do not need to try and help me in every aspect, and most of my writing are details, NOTE*

Alrighty, I've decided to make my own gaming PC, I may or may not do it. I am looking to gather some information and at this point I want to know how I can combine different CPU's with motherboards and GPU's.

I have a keen eye on the "Core i7-920" CPU, but I spotted a "Core i7-960" CPU, which is a newer version of the "920".

The 960 seems to be about twice the price of the 920, and the only difference I know of the two is that the 920 has a "mult X 20" and the 960 has a "mult X 24". As you can guess, I'm not very experienced, I think the "mult" is the Bus of the CPU?

I still have my eye on the 920, as it is half the price of the 960, and only lacks the bus by 4notches.

I want to know if that makes a difference at all? Perhaps it's a no biggy, but still something you could notice lacking with the 920?

Also, what type of motherboard/GPU could I use with the 920/960?

The type of games I want to run are fast paced games. like FPS/Action/A few RPG/MMORPG (maybe)/Racing.

Those sorts, where the better your computer is, the better you can play the game.

Another thing is, I went on "Can you rune it" and it said my CPU/GPU doesn't have a vertex shader.
Does the 920/960 have these?

acidischemical

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2009

How much more faster is it? But I'm still leaning towards the 920.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/default.aspx?p=47&p2=45

(core i7 965 is the closest cpu to the core i7 960)

For gaming, the core i7 has more power than it's needed. most games can only use 2 thread of the 8 threads the i7 has.