Sign in with
Your question
Closed

ASUS P8Z68-V LX vs. P8Z68-V/GEN3 vs. P8Z68V-V Pro/GEN3

Last response: in Overclocking
January 26, 2012 5:42:06 AM

I am rather new to overclocking as I normally never bother with it but I was told that with this mobo and the 2600k that it was ultra easy. So I went into the bios AI Tweaker and set it to manual, bslk to 100 and all cores to 40 (was told 46 was safe but start small...). No dice. CPU-Z still says a multiplier of 34. Any words on what I'm doing wrong? Thank you.
a b V Motherboard
a c 125 K Overclocking
a b Ĉ ASUS
January 26, 2012 10:15:09 AM

Sounds obvious but are you saving your settings before exiting the BIOS?

Does the PC restart normally after you've exited the BIOS?

Are you using AUTO Voltage?

Also what cooler are you using with your 2600K?

Sorry for all the questions, just need some more info

:) 
Score
January 27, 2012 3:07:59 AM

Rustyy117 said:
Sounds obvious but are you saving your settings before exiting the BIOS?
Yes

Rustyy117 said:
Does the PC restart normally after you've exited the BIOS?
Seems to.

Rustyy117 said:
Are you using AUTO Voltage?
The only voltage adjustment was my Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1600C7 to 1.65v, other than that all are auto. Tried with this set to auto as well...

Rustyy117 said:
Also what cooler are you using with your 2600K?
I got the Cooler Master Hyper 212 installed
Score
Related resources
January 28, 2012 9:42:24 PM

Well I've tried all that I can think of. This is what I got it set to:

AI TWEAKER:

OC Tuner: Manual
BCLK: 100.0
Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
By All Cores: 46
PLL Overvolts: Auto
Mem Freq: Auto
I GPU Max: 1650 (I never touched this)
OC TUner-----> DO NOT TOUCH. It starts Auto-OC
DRAM: All Auto
CPU Power Management:
CPU Ratio: Auto
SpeedStep: Enabled
Turbo: Enabled
Auto for everything else

CPU Offset sign: +
CPU Voltage (1.295 for me): .130 (Shows your current voltage and the offset that is bringing the CPU to that value)

The next is a + and everything else is AUTO